Thankfulness

Standard

I was on facebook the other day, trying to catch up with friends and family, and I saw so many posts about thankfulness. Which reminded me, Thanksgiving is so close! I am going to miss being around family for Thanksgiving, but I am excited to share it with my Ugandan family!

Since it is quickly approaching us, I decided to make a list of some things that being in Uganda has made me more thankful for.

-Jesus. I am so very thankful for the grace of Jesus Christ and His gift of salvation. I am so extremely undeserving of his mercy and love.

-My Family. I have been blessed to have such a supportive, loving, and Christ-centered family. My parents have always been there for me no matter what, and I know that regardless of the circumstances they will forever have my back. My brothers, as crazy as they might be, are seriously the best and I miss them more than they know. And Charis, my little China-girl, is the most precious sister I could ever ask for. My mom sent me videos of her pretending to talk to me on the phone in Uganda and I have watched them over and over again. We’ve had our ups and downs in life, but they are definitely my favorite people to be with. God has blessed me far more than I could ever ask for.

-My Friends. Being in Uganda has had an interesting way of showing me how incredible my friends are. Rather they are in Washington, Virginia, Texas, Georgia, or even Washington DC, they have sent me messages of encouragement and support throughout my time here. I am so so thankful for them all and miss them so much!

-My Home. Rather I am in Washington or Texas, I am thankful that I have always had a roof over my head and food on the table (even when its just ramen noodles). I am thankful for running water that doesn’t turn off. I am thankful for electricity that doesn’t go out every other day. I am thankful that there is hot water at any moment of the day. I am thankful for my bed.

-Skype. Seriously one of the best inventions ever! I have been able to see and talk to my family and friends while I’ve been in Uganda and it has been the biggest blessing.

-Steak and Bacon. I have discovered that I am a total carnivore. I have never wished for meat so much in my life. There is definitely a reason that my high school vegetarian phase lasted a week. I can’t wait to get home and have both of them!

-Smooth roads. The pot holes, humps, crevasses and cows that are all over the streets of Uganda make for a bumpy ride.

-PB&J sandwiches. Wait, what did I just say? Yes you read that right. Cassady Weldon is thankful for PB&Js. I can count the number of PB&Js I’ve eaten pre-Uganda on one hand. Until 2 months ago I could not stand them. But, God has allowed my taste buds to enjoy PB&Js. While this will probably never be one of my favorite things to eat, I am thankful that I even have the opportunity to eat them. The greater majority of Uganda lives on less than one dollar per day. If I am fortunate enough to have a PB&J in front of me instead of more posho, I am super thankful.

Leave a comment