The Rev

Standard

So, my dad is awesome. Like, really awesome. I am so blessed to have such a constant and strong model of Christ’s love in my life. I’m a daddy’s girl for sure.

He has always been a pastor, as far back as I can remember. I’ve seen the very real ups and downs of ministry. I’ve watched people hurt my dad, I’ve listened to people complain about my dad, I’ve seen people use my dad, but more often than not, I’ve mostly just observed how people are loved by my dad.

While I’m a little biased, the Rev is really my favorite preacher and teacher. From day one I have learned so much from him.

At different times he has intentionally sat down with me and taught me really important things: like how much God wants to have relationship with me, how a man should treat me, that credit cards aren’t really magic cards, how to live on a budget, and things like that.

And as important as those big things are, there are some things the Rev has taught me that I’m not sure he consciously intended to; these are the things that I’ve watched him live out when no one is watching.

1.  Everyone needs prayer. There is no situation too awkward to ask someone if you can pray for them.

2. Tip well always. Christians should be a waiters favorite customers, not his stingiest.

3. You’re never too broke to follow God. Whether it means moving across the country, adopting, buying a homeless guy a hotel room for a few nights, or paying for someone’s coffee, if God is leading you to do it, then do it.

4. Life is too short to hold grudges, and forgiveness is easier in the end.

5. You should always be reading something.

6. Don’t change what you like or who you are just because everyone around you doesn’t share your interests. It’s okay to be a UGA fan in Washington, and it’s okay to be the only one standing up when everyone else seems to be sitting down.

7. Lose yourself. Rather you lose yourself in laughter, in worship, or in thought, it’s good to give up control.

8. Practice what you preach. And if you’re not good at practicing it, admit it when you’re preaching and then preach it to yourself.

9. Everyone has a story. Don’t think you know it, until they tell you.

10. When you’re wrong, admit it. As soon as possible.

Although being a pastor’s kid has it’s downfalls, like when your dad refers to Ashton “Krutcher” in a sermon, or when its raining on a Sunday morning and he makes a joke about riding his ark to church, and the unfortunate fact that at any given moment my life is fair game for a sermon illustration (and has been, too many times to count), I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Leave a comment