But Jesus said, “Let the children come to me…”

Standard

Matthew 19:14 says, “But Jesus said, ‘Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to those who are like these children.'”

Every Monday and Thursday are outreach days for us. On Mondays we go to an awesome ministry called A Perfect Injustice (API).  They do an amazing job reaching out to boys who live on the streets.

These kids are out on the street for numerous reasons, but they all want love and attention.

At API they learn a lesson, do an activity, play games, and have a devotion before being given dinner.

This week their lesson was about Uganda. We brought a world map and showed them the different continents and where Uganda is located. Then they made their own flag, which was an interesting process.

The boys were pretty proud of their flags, they kept asking me to take pictures of them with their flags.

I had a lot of fun with the boys, but when I got back to the house it started to sink in that they are all going to sleep on concrete. I’m sure they get very few meals apart from when they are fed at API.

I can’t even begin to imagine their day to day life.

But when I read Matthew 19:14, I was reminded that Jesus loves these kids, and He has clearly placed the wonderful people at API in their lives to let them know that.

Wednesday is our grocery shopping day.  I love going to the open market where we buy all of our produce. Everyone is very friendly there, but I think that’s mostly because they think I’m a rich mizungu that will buy all their food.

Thursday we went to an orphanage that houses about 40 kids that all range from 6-15 years old. They have a school in the orphanage that we taught classes in. I got to teach a P4 class of (ironically) 4 students.

I was pretty excited to teach until I was handed math and science curriculum. Anyone who knows me knows that is a disaster waiting to happen! But by the grace of God we got through it and I only made one mistake on the chalkboard!

Also, I had to say goodbye to the braids. It was super fun, but my hair couldn’t hold them. After I took them out I looked… well, afrotastic! haha

Tomorrow we are going to tour the Watoto village which is an incredible ministry. Can’t wait to share my experience! Then Sunday Oscar, one of our kids here, is graduating from kindergarden and going into P1! I’m very proud and excited to see the ceremony!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response »

Leave a comment