Facts vs. Knowledge

Standard

Since I’ve been in Uganda I have seen so many abandoned children. The reasons vary among each child, but the product seems to be the same. Every time I go into a different orphanage my heart breaks at the number of kids that have been left without a family.

At Passion last weekend, Louie Giglio talked about how so many Christians have so much knowledge about God, but they don’t really know Him. I have gotten a clear picture of this since I’ve been in Uganda.

The past few years I have learned and researched and talked about this huge problem we have in our world.

There are over 130 million children who have lost one or both parents worldwide.

There are over 500,000 children in the US Foster Care system.

If only 7% of the 2 billion Christians in the world felt the call to adopt there would be no more orphans.

These facts and so many more are consistently in the back of my mind ready to share with anyone willing to listen. I love to talk about the need for orphan care and adoption.

However, until you walk into an orphanage and play with a child, feed them, listen to their cries, the facts are just facts. It’s only head knowledge.

But when you put a face with the facts and a name with the story, it becomes ten times more real.

That’s how it is with God. It’s not enough to just know the information. It is a relationship. It is a daily decision to walk with Him and learn about His character.

Me and Brenda 

Tuesday is Uganda’s Jubilee celebration of 50 years of independence! Can’t wait to share pictures! Please pray for peace in Uganda and for wisdom for the government leaders here. Pray for their economy to be strengthened and resources to be used wisely.

One response »

Leave a comment